You are here: Home Senior Prep Senior Prep News Grade 7 Valediction & Gala Dinner

Grade 7 Valediction & Gala Dinner

This year for the first time, the Grade 7 Valediction service was combined with the annual farewell dinner and was held at the Indaba Hotel on Monday 4 December 2017.

In addition to bidding goodbye to the pupils, a host of awards were handed out as we celebrated what was a fantastic year for the grade.

We would like to take this opportunity to wish all our pupils every success in their future endeavours as they take the next step in their school careers. 

Here is a full list of all the awards that were handed out at the evening:

Grade 7 Class Awards

Consistent endeavour: Ryan Ali, Amy-Jo Briggs, Daniella Burgess, William Connellan, Isabella Fish, Rushil Naik, Anda Ratsibe, Jessica van Staden, Kelsey

Venter, Liam Venter

Academic progress: Sarah Jane Meisel

Academic excellence (Top performer in the class): Jeff du Toit, Amaan Mahomed, Kian Spies, Ethan Janse van Vuuren, Kate Weir

Academic merit – 75% and above for the year

Calila Bergman-Ally, Matthew Bull, Sunah Choi, William Connellan, Bophelo Dipico, Isabella Fish, Brandon Johnson- Williams, Ipeleng Mokghele, Anda Ratsibe, Kiera Tomlinson, Georgia van Staden, Liam Venter

Academic colours – 80% and above for the year

Ryan Atkinson, Keegan Beuthin, Jenna Cassel, Jeff du Toit, Ethan Janse van Vuuren, Amaan Mahomed, Rushil Naik, Kian Spies, Jessica van Staden, Kate Weir

Subject Awards

English: Jeff du Toit

Afrikaans: Jeff du Toit

Isizulu: Anda Ratsibe

Mathematics: Jeff du Toit and Kate Weir

Natural Science: Jeff du Toit

Social Sciences: Jeff du Toit

ICT: Kian Spies

D&T: Jeff du Toit

Life Skills: Molemo Manyathela

Values Awards

Fortitude: Gabriella Kimber and Thomas Parry

Integrity: Thuso Ndlovu and Nupe Spelman

Self-Discipline: Sunah Choi and Ipeleng Mokgehle

Humanity: Shaun McClatchie and Anda Ratsibe

Accountability: Georgia van Staden and Liam Venter

Respect: Christopher James Barnard and Kema Rugara

Sportswoman & Sportsman of the Year

Kiera Tomlinson & Ryan Atkinson

House Trophy 2017



Trophy Winners

Grade 7 Academic Progress Trophy

Kelia Isimbi

Grade 7 Personal Progress Trophy

Junior Mhlanga and Tristan Weir

Webb trophy for Innovation

Kian Spies

Trophy for Outstanding Contribution to Outreach

Calila Bergman-Ally & Ethan Janse van Vuuren

David Buys Music Trophy

Kate Weir

Sue Vermaas Art Trophy

Georgia van Staden & Kelsey Venter

Dux Scholar for 2017

Jeff du Toit

Trophy for Service above Self

Calila Bergman-Ally

Shamla Bennideen Award for Leadership

Jeff du Toit & Anda Ratsibe

Springett Award

Ryan Atkinson

Principal’s Award

Kate Weir

Dainfern College

ISASA logo 50px white border    Ieb logo 50px white    ProudlySA Member Logo 50px    round square logo 50px

Dainfern College, 96 Broadacres Drive, Dainfern

PO Box 3199, Dainfern, 2055

Tel: +27 (0)11 469 0635; Email:

You are here: Home Senior Prep Senior Prep News Grade 7 Valediction & Gala Dinner